Good Reads

The 5 Love Languages

August 26, 2015

When you get married there are certain clichés people just throw out there without truly defining what they mean. “Marriage is hard” is the most popular. Everyone says it, but very few can explain exactly what is hard about it. Once I got married I realized why. It is difficult to explain, yet easy to understand once you have a marriage of your own. Other words of wisdom include “communication is key.” That is unbelievably true as well. As we all know communication isn’t simply saying whatever you have to say. As women, especially business women we have NO problem letting you know where we stand. However a long time ago a friend of mine suggested taking a quiz based off the book, “The 5 Love Languages,” by Gary Chapman.

I am sure quite a few of you are already familiar with this quiz, book and concept. It was a great exercise in learning how your partner RECEIVES or feels love. The languages are;

1 – Words of Affirmation: They embrace words that affirm or support.

2- Acts of Service: They prefer actions, such as taking their car to get serviced.

3- Receiving Gifts: They like to receive gifts.

4- Quality Time: They value time spent with you.

5- Physical Touch: Hand Holding and other forms of PDA.


We are all a mix of these things but we rank them differently. For example if Quality Time ranks high for me and receiving gifts ranks high for my husband, we may show our love in different ways. He may always buy me things but spend very little time with me. It doesn’t mean he loves me any less. That is just how he receives/feels love and therefore most likely shows it as well.

It is a great book and conversation piece for any couple. Start by taking the quiz here!


You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Chawniee December 11, 2015 at 3:46 am

    When I first learned of the 5 Love Languanges years ago, I deemed the knowledge to be a wonderful tool for my relationship “toolbox”. Years later, I’ve found it equally useful in understanding the needs of my children and how to appropriately and uniquely tell them “I love you!” I get it right…..some days…lol

  • Leave a Reply